Malone University announces chapel services for the new year

Published:

The Malone University Office of Spiritual Formation has announced its chapel series for spring semester, 2013. Malone Chapels are held Tuesdays, 10:30-11:10 a.m., Wednesdays, 10:05-10:45 a.m. and most Fridays 10:05-10:45 a.m., in the sanctuary of the Johnson Center for Worship and the Fine Arts. Malone University chapel events are free and open to the public.

Tuesday, Jan. 15: University Chaplain Randy Heckert

Wednesday, Jan. 16: Suzanne Nicholson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biblical Studies, "Who is Jesus?"

Friday, Jan. 18: Pastor Stan Hinshaw, lead pastor of Canton First Friends Church, "Why do spiritual disciplines matter?"www.firstfriends.org/leadership/pastoral-team

Tuesday, Jan. 22: Jeff Leon, Malone Life Coach, sharing the Gospel and kicking off the Signpost Series

Wednesday, Jan. 23: Jeff Leon, Signpost Series

Friday, Jan. 25: Celia King, Director of Service Learning; Discipline: to be announced.

Tuesday, Jan. 29: University Chaplain Randy Heckert

Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7-9 p.m. in Silk Auditorium (MH): Terry Thomas, Ph.D., Professor of Biblical Studies at Geneva College, "How to Read the Bible" workshop. www.geneva.edu/object/faculty_terry_thomas

Wednesday, Jan. 30: The Quaker Testimonies - understanding peace-making, simplicity, integrity and equality. www.esr.earlham.edu/support/comprehensive-case/the-vine/the-quaker-testimonies

Friday, Feb. 1: Director of Spiritual Formation Linda Leon; Discipline: Slowing - a spiritual discipline which helps us to savor the moment and curbs our addiction to busyness, hurry and workaholism.

Tuesday, Feb. 5: Rev. Saleem Ghubril, Executive Director of The Pittsburgh Promise, "Loving and Serving Our Neighbor," Signpost Series. www.pittsburghpromise.org/about_staff.php

Wednesday, Feb. 6: Rev. Saleem Ghubril, Signpost Series

Friday, Feb. 8: Resident Directors Stacy Utecht and Mike Hansen; Discipline: Pilgrimage - walking while keenly aware of God's presence.

Tuesday, Feb. 12: University Chaplain Randy Heckert

Wednesday, Feb. 13: Ash Wednesday Service

Friday, Feb. 15: University Chaplain Randy Heckert; Discipline: Silence and Solitude - freeing oneself from addiction to noise and entering into time alone with God.

Tuesday, Feb. 19: Rev. Diana Swoope, Ph.D., Arlington Church of God, "Faith and Civility in Culture," Signpost Serieswww.arlingtonchurch.org/content_about_us/swoope.htm

Wednesday, Feb. 20: Singer and speaker Justin McRoberts, www.justinmcroberts.com

Friday, Feb. 22 Student Director of Spiritual Formation Avery Linn; Discipline: Fasting - to let go of an appetite in order to seek God on matters of deep concern for ourselves and others.

Tuesday, Feb. 26: Annual Senior Preacher chapel featuring students Bob Book and James Talbert

Tuesday, Feb. 26, 7-8 p.m. in JC Memorial Chapel: Tom Willett, musician, author and entertainment industry executive speaking on "Faith and Creativity," Signpost Series. www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Willett

Wednesday, Feb. 27: Departmental Convocation

Friday, March 1: Chapel Worship Coordinator Tim Longbrake; Discipline: Music - understanding music as a way to worship God.

Tuesday, March 12: University Chaplain Randy Heckert

Wednesday, March 13: Theological panel with guests Steve Moroney, Ph.D., Bryan Hollon, Ph.D., and Woolman Lecturer Eleanore Stump, Ph.D.

Friday, March 15: Celia King, Director of Service Learning: Discipline: Writing as Soul Care - writing and reflecting on God's presence and activity in, around and through me.

Tuesday, March 19: Annual Excellence Chapel, including staff/faculty awards

Tuesday, March 19, 7-8 p.m., JC Memorial Chapel: evening chapel with Spiritual Formation staff Tim Longbrake and Linda Leon

Wednesday, March 20: Faith and Expression - panel of guests representing literature, music, theatre and the visual arts; featuring poet and author Julia Kasdorf, Signpost Series. www.poets.org/poet.php/prmPID/362

Tuesday, March 26: Exploring Worship chapels focused on Passion Week. What is Passion Week? Seehttp://www.beliefnet.com/Faiths/Christianity/2007/03/FAQ-Christian-Holidays-During-Holy-Week.aspx).

Wednesday, March 27: Exploring Worship chapels focused on Passion Week

Tuesday, April 2: Football head coach Eric Hehman, "Faith and Sport," Signpost Series

Wednesday, April 3: Rev. Alistair Begg, Senior Pastor of Parkside Church, www.truthforlife.org

Friday, April 5: Director of Spiritual Formation Linda Leon; Discipline: Meditating on the Names of God - contemplating names and titles for God which express His character, presence and authority.

Tuesday, April 9: University Chaplain Randy Heckert

Wednesday, April 10: Alumni Career Chapel

Friday, April 12: Resident Director Kat Gritter; Discipline: Prayer of Examen - to notice both God and our God-given desires throughout the day.

Tuesday, April 16: Musician JJ Heller, www.jjheller.com

Tuesday, April 16, 7-8 p.m., Stewart Room (BCC): evening chapel with Spiritual Formation staff Tim Longbrake and Linda Leon

Final Chapel: Wednesday, April 17: Senior Chapel, an annual tradition organized by the senior class representatives.

Want to leave your comments?

Sign in or Register to comment.