Heading Logo


Area historic sites to be open Sept. 18

Published: September 9, 2016 10:00 AM

Area communities will celebrate their buildings and landmarks including their history, design and stories they tell about Ohio and Ohioans.

In conjunction with Ohio Open Doors, on Sept. 18th from 1-4 p.m., several historic sites will be open to share their unique stories.

The Waynesburg Historical Society at 117 Lisbon Street will welcome visitors to view its collections. Among the sites to visit are 8013 Bachelor Road and St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Church. It was built in 1851 from bricks made on site. In Magnolia, possible sites to visit are Trinity Lutheran Church at 205 Harrison Street built in 1904 and the A.R. Elson Victorian Italianate home owned by Gus and JoLane Elson.

The Magnolia Flouring Mill at 261 North Main Street will have views of a working mill. The Issac Miller Inn at 107 South Main Street built around 1830 may also be a stop. Visitors may enjoy some ice cream at Taggarts while there.

The log cabin at state Route 800 and Westbrook Street maintained by the Pike Township Historical Society is another possible stop for visitors.


Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.